With the development of Tibet tourism, more and more people choose Tibet as the dreaming tour destination. This mysterious place which has existed in isolation for nearly 14 centuries becomes touchable and accessible to the world nowadays. People who had visited Tibet or know a little about it may know that it is a religious place, where the Buddhism had been integrated with the locals’ life. You can see Buddhism affects the Tibetans from every aspect of their behaviors, such as cooking, building houses, praying, etc. Due to the distinctive location, the Buddhism which was originated from ancient India had some changes after spreading to Tibet, which is called as “Tibetan Buddhism” by the public. This post is going to introduce the beginning, development, and current situation of Tibetan Buddhism, to help travelers know more about Tibetan culture.

It should be dated back to 1,800 years ago when it was Ancient Katao Dynasty in Tibet area, the prince Xinrao Miwo who is regarded as the master of Shakya Muni founded a religion for saving the poor people from all the pain of lives. This native religion was called Bon, which was the origin of Tibetan culture. Tibetan people considered it as the supreme belief and followed the doctrine strictly. Bon religion ruled the entire Tibet for years until the 7th century, the 33rd leader of Tubo tribe and also the first emperor of Tibet, Srongtsen Gampo, sent ministers to bring Buddhist scriptures from ancient India and the north part of China (that time was Tang Dynasty) and promoted it widely in Tibet. Because the ultimate doctrines of Buddhism and Bon were the same, Buddhism had a quick development without difficulties and mixed with some teachings of Bon. Finally, there emerged a new religion in Tibet, that was Tibetan Buddhism.

The founder of Bon religion

Srongtsen Gampo was the first king in Tibet to enforce people believe in Buddhism by laws. After him, there were another two kings  whos also did great efforts to protect Buddhism and encourage its development.

One is Trisong Detsen, who invited Indian monks Shantarakshita and Padma Sambhava to teach Buddhism in Tibet. This was a significant event in Tibetan Buddhist history. As the famous Samye Monastery was built under the lead of these two eminent monks. Later, Trisong Detsen invited another 12 Indian monks to tonsure 7 Tibetan young nobles in Samye Monastery. And then, started to let monks translate the scriptures that were brought from India. Even he allowed monks to embark the political affairs.

The other one is Triral Pachen, who respected monks very much and enacted laws that monks were tax-free and no need to work, per 7 lay people need to afford one monk’s life. Buddhism was flourished due to the support from the top echelons of society. A lot of monasteries, temples were built during those time, such as Jokhang Temple, Drepung Monastery, etc. and people were proud of being monks or at least practicing Buddhism at home. Believing in Buddhism was justified no matter to the royalty, nobility, or populace.

But then, the last Tibetan king started to suppress Buddhism as he thought the power of monks and lamas were out of control. He destroyed the temples, monasteries, enforced monks or lamas to resume secular life. It was really a dark time for Buddhism in Tibetan history.

Around 100 years after he died, the Buddhism was revived but the scale was not as large as before. Since then, Buddhism had developed into Tibetan Buddhism with unique plateau features, and formed several different denominations. In the beginning of 15th century, when Gelugpa was set up, Tibetan Buddhism was finally separated into four main denominations which exist until now.

the three kings of Tibet who supported Buddhism

Current Situation of Tibetan Buddhism - The Four Denominations of Tibetan Buddhism

Gelugpa (Yellow Sect)
Gelugpa is also called the Yellow Hats sect as the followers all wear dark red frocks and yellow hats. Although Gelugpa is the youngest sect of Tibetan Buddhism, it’s the largest and most important one. It was founded by Tsongkhapa, who requested a strict discipline. Lamas could not eat meat or drink alcohol and must obey celibacy. Ganden, Drepung, Sera, and Tashilunpo are top four Gelugpa Monasteries in Tibet.

Nyingmapa (Red Sect)
Nyingmapa is the oldest and second largest sect of Tibetan Buddhism. The founder is Padma Sambhava, who is honored as “the second Buddha” by the followers. It was changed a little by Longchenpa in the 14th. century. Nyingma monks are not required to be celibate.

Kagyupa (White Sect)
It’s the third largest sect. The followers practice to achieve the inner peace, that’s why it was called “the Tibetan Zen” as well.

Sakyapa (Variegated Sect)
As the smallest sect of Tibetan Buddhism, Sakyapa was named for the Sakya Monastery, which is located in the south of Tibet. Sakya means “gray and white earth” in the Tibetan language. The walls of Sakya Monastery were painted with red, white and cyan color. So, Sakyapa is also called “the Variegated Tibetan Buddhist sect".

Bon (Black Sect)
Introduced from India in the 8th century, Bon is the fifth denomination of Tibetan Buddhism. By absorbing the features of Tibetan indigenous religions, Bon has developed its own features. The teachings and terminology are the same to Tibetan Buddhism, while the self-identifies are different from the traditional Buddhism.

Gelugpa Tibetan Buddhism

Related Articles & Posts

  • Tibetan People

    Tibetan people always keep a mysterious veil to the public. We will introduce Tibetan people from their lifestyle, history, robes, inhabitants, food, architecture, occupational life, hada, language, religion and entertainment. ...

  • 10 Things You Should Know About Tibetan Prayer Flags Before Hanging Them Up

    As a symbol of Tibetan culture, prayer flags can be seen in Tibet here and there. Here are some details about Tibetan prayer flags origin, features, colors, meanings and so on. ...

  • Tibetan Nomads

    Nomads mainly refer to the people whose main way of life is nomadism. In order to adapt to the climate conditions of high temperature and drought in Tibetan plateau, the Tibetan Nomads have implemented a strict animal husbandry management mode. ...

  • What Tibetan Festival You Can Expect for the Rest of 2017

    Taking part in a Tibetan Festival is a very good way to explore Tibetan culture during your Tibet tours. The most time of 2017 has already passed, so, what else of Tibetan Festivals you can still expect in this year? ...

  • The Tibet Sky Burial Custom

    Sky Burial is a traditional funeral ritual, which the dead body is consecrated to the vultures in a certain sky burial platform. It has a close relationship with Tibetan Buddhism, and there some taboos about sky burial which you don’t know. ...

  • Unveiling the Mystery of Longda

    Many people scatter scraps of paper into the sky for the purpose of seeking blessing from the God. Those scraps of paper are called Longda. Longda is printed with lection and patterns. ...

  • Tibetan Monks

    Do you wanna know what does the life like of the mysterious Tibetan monks or have you ever imagined the inside picture of Buddhist monasteries? ...

  • Top 10 Tibetan Monasteries

    We’ve listed 10 of the most visited Tibetan monasteries, their marvelous structural styles and precious collections of religious artworks will feast your eye. ...

  • Tibet History

    The history of Tibet including: Imperial age (602-842), Era of fragmentation, Sakya Rule, Pazhu Regime, Collapse of Serfdom, and Establishment of Tibet Autonomous Region. ...

  • Tibetan Language

    The Tibetan language including the history of Tibetan language , Tibetan Language Pronunciation, Tibetan Language Grammar, Tibetan Language writing styles, and useful Tibetan Words. ...

Ask a Quick Question? Ask below or call 0086-891-6873166
or Email Us